Dramatic Vocalise Database

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872–1958)

Three Vocalises (1958)

For soprano and clarinet in B flat. I Prelude. II Scherzo. III Quasi menuetto.

First perf.: Manchester, 8 October 1958, Margaret Ritchie (sop.), Keith Puddy (clarinet).
First London perf.: B.B.C. broadcast, 22 December 1958, Margaret Ritchie (sop.), Gervase de Peyer (clarinet). Published 1960.1

    Full Score 2



I. Prelude

II. Scherzo

III. Quasi menuetto


1 Michael Kennedy, The Works of Ralph Vaughan Williams, 2nd ed. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1980), 432.

2 Ralph Vaughan Williams, Three Vocalises (London: Oxford University Press, 1960), 2–7.